I Like Snow Sadistically

I swear to God guys, one month in and you’ve both missed post deadlines? Maybe we should include harsher punishments for repeat offences – I’m thinking hanging, drawing and quartering next time for you Bradley? And don’t worry Izzy, we’ll think of some appropriate punishment, I’m sure (sharpens quartering weapons).

But back to the discussion at hand; Izzy, you took us in the delightfully British step of talking about the weather, and I’d like to continue that theme, particularly with regards to snow. I was going to bitch about how awful and impractical snow is, and how all it does is give things falling from the sky a bad name compared to rain and hail, both of which I am a fan.

I then realised that I’m also a fan of snow (completing an admiring trifecta of things dropped on us by the gods, if nothing else), simply because it makes life harder for other people. Yes, I’ve built snowpeople and made snowangels in my time, but I’ve gotten much more amusement from trekking through feet of the damn stuff to school in January, watching smaller students and foolish teachers in heels and dress shoes tumble about like this moron, or gang up on each other in ridiculously one-sided snowball fights that left some poor sods drenched, and others running into the distance, cackling in a jaunty manner.

These days it’s arguably better, as now I can look at people making tits of themselves from the comfort of my own home, and we get the now-annual ‘Winter Is Cold’ story plastered all over the main news outlets, a tragic piece of non-news that will surely dwarf the Autumn Statement, Ebola, ISIS, and the work of Football Baby, despite making no sense whatsoever – transpose the model to Summer; would it be news that the sun is visible in the sky for long periods of the day?

Even when I’m outside and laughing at the snow-based misfortune of others I’m feeling great, because I do sensible things like wear coats and trainers, and generally try not to give a toss about the weather – I need to get from point A to B, so worrying that there’s snow in the way will slow me down from this objective that will be completed eventually, so is pointless – whereas many others don’t.

So bring on the snow, bring on the cold, and bring on general Wintery bullshit; I can’t wait to see how my friends from warmer places react.

Leave a comment